Golden Joystick – Ultimate Game Of All Time Award

Golden Joystick – Ultimate Game Of All Time Award

Future Publishing announced they will be holding an “Ultimate Game Of All Time” vote for this year’s Golden Joystick Awards. This special award is to commemorate 50 years of gaming, with nominees selected by a panel of industry experts and legends, such as Katsuhiro Harada (Tekken series), Debbie Bestwick MBE (Team17), Gary Penn (DMA Design, Grand Theft Auto), and more.

A shortlist of 150 games was picked from the almost 1.1 million games released over the past several decades, and further narrowed down to a list of 20 games for the final vote, based on reception, legacy, impact, and some personal preference:

Ultimate Game Of All Time Award

  • Minecraft
  • The Last of Us
  • Doom (1993)
  • Tetris
  • Super Mario 64
  • Street Fighter II
  • Space Invaders
  • Portal
  • Pokémon GO
  • Super Mario Kart
  • Grand Theft Auto V
  • Super Mario Bros. 3
  • The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild
  • Halo: Combat Evolved
  • Dark Souls
  • Metal Gear Solid
  • Half-Life 2
  • Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
  • Pac-Man
  • SimCity (1989)

The winners will be announced later this month at the full awards show on November 23rd.