Shantae and the Seven Sirens – Free Spectacular Superstar Update live

Shantae and the Seven Sirens – Free Spectacular Superstar Update live

Developer WayForward announced the Spectacular Superstar update for Shantae and the Seven Sirens – teasing a new slew of ways to enjoy the platforming adventure.  The new update is now live – adding 4 additional modes, extra story content, and optional convenience features to the adventure. Best of all, the update is completely free for those that already own the game.


Spectacular Superstar

The “Spectacular Superstar” update delivers four new modes—Definitive Mode, Full Deck Mode, Rule Breaker Mode, and Beginner Mode—as well as extra story content and optional convenience features for the fifth and most recent entry in the fan-favorite Shantae series.

Originally released on consoles and PC in May 2020 and on Apple Arcade in September 2019, Shantae and the Seven Sirens already offers hours of action, platforming, and exploration—as well as an animated opening by the renowned Studio TRIGGER—as Shantae the Half-Genie seeks to uncover the secrets of Paradise Island. As Shantae, players use their hair-whip, animal transformations, dance abilities, and Monster Card power-ups to battle the looming threat of the mysterious Seven Sirens as well as the nefarious lady pirate, Risky Boots. With the addition of the “Spectacular Superstar” update, there are now five ways to experience the game:

  • Definitive Mode – A more challenging “director’s cut” that features classic Shantae difficulty, with rebalanced item drops and magic consumption, as well as more-intense boss fights and new dialog with the Sirens before each battle.
  • Full Deck Mode – Definitive Mode with a twist. Start with all 50 Monster Cards to customize Shantae’s abilities to your liking.
  • Rule Breaker Mode – Definitive Mode without limits. You can equip up to 50 Monster Cards at once to gain ultimate power.
  • Beginner Mode – Definitive Mode made simple. This easy mode makes it impossible to lose! Perfect for newcomers or those who just want to explore the world and enjoy the story.
  • Legacy Mode – Experience the game in its original, unaltered form.

Further enhancements across all modes include improved dialog and the addition of map objectives and game hints, which can be toggled on or off via the Pause Menu. And for players seeking even more challenge, the unlockable Hula Costume (which offers more powerful magic in exchange for lower defense) is usable in all modes after the player has beaten the game at least once.

About Shantae and the Seven Sirens

Shantae is back in an all-new tropical adventure! In her fifth outing, the Half-Genie hero gains new Fusion Magic abilities to explore a vast sunken city, makes new Half-Genie friends, and battles the Seven Sirens in her biggest, most thrilling quest yet! Featuring multiple towns and more labyrinths than ever before, an awesome aquatic journey full of danger and discovery awaits!

Key Features:

  • Traverse an expansive, interconnected world above and below the sea!
  • Use Fusion Magic to change instantly between new creature forms!
  • Belly dance to activate machinery, restore health, and more!
  • Collect and power up with Monster Cards!
  • Enjoy minigames, acquire magic and items, and uncover secrets!
  • Gorgeously animated TV-style cutscenes!
  • All-new characters and returning favorites like Rottytops, Sky, Bolo, and the nefarious pirate Risky Boots!